An herb I researched in detail: Bloodroot (Sanguinaria canadensis) (originally posted in 2010)

Disclaimer: This one required specific research, which is what one should do when using any herbs, as well ask find out from their doctor if any herb is safe for them to use.
(Originally posted by me @ WiccanTogether in June ’09)

The first bit of information I had on this herb is that it is a poison. I just keep this specific herb stored away and I don’t plan to use it (if at all) until I get as much information on it as I can and I can be assured that I use this herb safely. After doing the research, I figued out how to use it, so… the research.

According to Buckland’s “big blue” Complete Book of Witchcraft, Bloodroot is listed as a strong expectorant and stimulant.

According to altnature.com, Bloodroot is also: anesthetic, antibacterial, anti-cholinesterase, anti-edemic, anti-gingivitic, anti-inflammatory, anti-neoplastic, antioxidant, anti-periodontic, anti-plaque, antiseptic, diuretic, emetic, expectorant, fungicide, gastrocontractant, hypertensive, pesticide, respiratory stimulant and more. So it can be used for cleansing parts of the physical body, but it can also really do damage if used incorrectly (not only will it give you intestinal issues, it is also a pesticide). Ask your doctor.
Here, it’s also said that it contains Berberine which is known to fight tumors and other cancers. So this herb is pretty serious business.
“Overdose can be fatal, so do not use when pregnant or lactating. Bloodroot is NOT edible.” So don’t ingest it. Lets keep in mind, again one of the minor facts of this herb, it is a pesticide.

It also says to wear gloves when handling this herb, which was already a no-brainer since I already knew it was a poison. Plus this herb can be used to make dye. So use gloves, grind it up, make some dye (and possibly magical ink).

Magically speaking, Bloodroot is used for love, purification, and protection (according torealmagick.com). Probably other things too of course. As far as using it as an incense is concerned, I would suggest ONLY use a small amount in some outdoor area. Do not burn it indoors, especially not around pets.

So that’s my research on Bloodroot. The reason I did this much research on this specific herb is because none of the books I had actually gave detailed health information on it, and when I bought it (shockingly easily), it was listed as a poison. 

Now why would I buy a poison? It was the first time I actually saw someone supply this herb and it looked interesting. (Hey, it happens to people all the time!)
So I thought I’d do some additional work and share my results, enjoy!

About Myrna Dragonchild

~ Coming soon! :) ~
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to An herb I researched in detail: Bloodroot (Sanguinaria canadensis) (originally posted in 2010)

  1. Gums says:

    Um apparently it heals cancer. Just sayin’!

  2. Betsey says:

    I read this paragraph completely regarding the resemblance
    of latest and preceding technologies, it’s amazing article.

  3. Shaunte says:

    Excellent items from you, man. I have take into accout your stuff prior to and you are just
    extremely wonderful. I really like what you have got
    right here, certainly like what you are stating and the way wherein you say it.
    You’re making it enjoyable and you continue to care for to
    stay it smart. I can’t wait to learn much more from you. This is really
    a wonderful site.

Reply To This!

