Yes, I Have a Ouija Board.

You read that correctly! AND I would get another one that’s custom made because I’ve seen so many that are gorgeous!

From this point forward I am going to refer to them as Spirit Boards.

Because for some strange reason, this thing:

Is not nearly as scary as this thing:

To be clear, I’m not promoting the use of spirit boards, as obviously not all forms of divination or spirit communication is for everyone’s use or consumption. However, this IS a post to clean up some of the “spookiness” of what is just another divination tool. I’ve spent years honestly trying to figure out how to say this nicely.

Most people whether or not they are practicing witches, are fully aware that the “Ouija Board” exists, and some of the stories that surround it, and very much likely have an alleged “friend that played with one at a party and bad shit happened”.

Its the epitome of “fucking up and finding out”. I’ll tell you why in a bit.

Ever been on a “haunted cemetery tour” and used a dowsing rod just to “see if spirits are active to talk to you”?
Have you talked to any tarot readers lately and asked them to read your cards?
Same shit, different shape. I’m dead serious.

So what’s the big deal with spirit boards? There really isn’t a big deal at all. It was originally marketed as a mysterious game, people bought it and played it while wasted and fried out of their minds.

So what do you think is going to happen? Duh.

A clear head and being respectful? Now that’s better. And your results would have been better if you did just that.

I’m going to break down this common sentence that everyone has once the topic of a spirit board comes up:
“Friend played with one-“ My first question is why are you knocking on somebody’s door just to say “HEY I DONT KNOW IF STUFF EXISTS OR NOT BUT HI IM HERE CAN YOU COME HERE AND DO STUFF?” In my honest opinion, its rude as hell, and that’s all you, not the board.
“-at a party-“ Why at a party? Sure its marketed as a game, but you’re literally trying to call spirits for entertainment. Talk about a waste of time. And you’re drunk/high? Don’t do magic without the right headspace, because 9 times out of 10 you’re probably not making the best decisions, especially when it comes to being rude to your beloved deceased that are trying to sleep at 3AM. I said what I said.
“-and bad stuff happened!” Let me put this into perspective: go ahead and wake me up out of a dead sleep just because you’re drunk and bored, throw me into a room full of probably loud ass people, and ask me to do something spooky. Yes I’m going to kick your ass the best way I know how. And you’re definitely going to remember it. And not do it again.

Best part of it all, it’s highly unlikely to be an actual demon. The Pope can’t profit from your pissed-off spirit story. Sorry.
If nothing happened, then you’ve got little activity or some pretty chill ghosts floating around. Or you’re actually very polite and just didn’t notice.

Please stop being rude to dead people and blaming the spirit board for it. Close off your communication politely, thank them for their time, snuff out your candle and clear your space. If you cast a circle, then open up the circle.

Hope that helps! 🙂

About Myrna Dragonchild

I’m 31, and I am a Witch. I study different spiritual practices in Paganism and social issues. And then I will discuss them.
This entry was posted in ouija, witchcraft and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Reply To This!